Camosun Chargers student-athlete honored with annual award – Saanich News

The big show, on and off the court, was recognized last week when Camosun College’s Department of Athletics honored the best Chargers of the past year.

Leading the way as a rare co-winner of the President’s Award, which is awarded to the best student athlete combining athletic and academic achievement, is second-year women’s basketball forward Tamiya Ness (Smithers high school) and left-sided third-year men’s volleyball Graham Basi ( Reynolds secondary), whose fall rate is as high as possible.

Ness, who led the PacWest conference on rebounds with 10.9 per game and was also voted the most valuable player on his team, was sorely missed in the PacWest playoffs, as the fifth-placed Chargers crashed out with an opening game loss to Douglas College in early March.

Basi was a member of the Chargers squad that last month won the national championship in Quebec City. The team were also recognized on the night for a superb season that saw them come from third place in the league game to drop just two sets in winning the PacWest crown, then sweeping three games in a row to claim the Canadian title.

Also receiving the Charger team MVP award are men’s basketball guard Takeshi Croke (Reynolds) and volleyball players Correina McNeice (Terrace) and Vitor Pereira (Brazil).

The team’s top rookie awards for basketball went to Allison Bobroske (Lambrick Park secondary) and Jaime Palamos-Molins (Oak Bay High), and to volleyball Rachel Leduc (Montreal), Jacob Ringma (Terrace) and Lucas Maffia (Oak Bay High).

The team leadership award went to basketball players Chelsea Espenberg (Kelowna) and Jake Wilmott (St. Michael’s University School) and volleyball players Chantelle Dobie (Salmon Arm) and Lorenz Vogel (Claremont).

Third-year Chargers setter Kyle Butterworth (Kelowna), awarded the Derek Twomey Memorial Scholarship for Sport, awarded to a male volleyball student-athlete who best reflects the positive qualities Twomey brings to the program.

Passion Sports Legacy Awards were awarded to Rhiannon Ware (Medicine Hat) and Riley Botting (Tofino) and McNeice and Basi volleyball, while Trudy and Doug Peden’s Charitable Foundation Award went to basketball player Maddie Manns (Claremont) and volleyball player Hannah. May (Belmont) .

The Victorian Women’s Basketball League award went to Ness, Manns, Espenberg, Sadie McMillan-Stowards (Oak Bay High) and Ashyana Kumar (Abbotsford).

The banquet and ceremony took place at the CFB Esquimalt Chief and Petty Officers’ Mess on April 7.

Do you have any story tips? Email:

Follow us on Indonesia and Instagram, and like us on Facebook.

College Athletic Awards, Greater Victoria, Saanich

Players, coaches and staff of the Camosun Chargers men’s volleyball team celebrated their national and regional titles again at the Chargers Athletics awards banquet April 7. (Photo by Erich Eichhorn/courtesy Camosun College)

Hadwin Floyd

"Coffee enthusiast. Hipster-friendly social media fanatic. Certified zombie expert. Problem solver."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *