Canada announces new sanctions against ’10 accomplices’ of Russian invasion

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced this Monday new sanctions against “10 accomplices in Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, between government officials and oligarchs.

“Canada announces new sanctions against 10 people involved in this unprovoked invasion,” Justin Trudeau said at a press conference in London today, along with his British counterpart Boris Johnson and his Dutch counterpart Mark Rutte.

The names of the people to be subject to the new sanctions are from a list compiled by Russia’s regime opponent Alexei Navalny, who is imprisoned in Russia, and including “former and current government officials, oligarchs and supporters” of Russian power, Trudeau said..

Sanctions will increase the pressure” in Moscow, “especially among those closest” to Russian President Vladimir Putin, assured the Canadian prime minister.

Ottawa recently announced a ban on all imports of Russian crude and sanctions on 10 leaders of Russia’s two major energy companies: Rosneft and Gazprom.

Canada also revoked the special trading status of Russia and Belarus, by imposing a 35% import duty on products from both countries.


See also

know more

Clara Burton

"Geek zombie. Subtly charming social media scholar. Beer enthusiast. Lifelong bacon pioneer."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *