Moscow barred Biden and Canadian prime minister from entering

Russia today announced a ban on US President Joe Biden and Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau from entering the country in response to sanctions imposed on Russia. Other officials from both governments were also put on the banned list. (see full list below).

On the American side, among those vetoed by the State Department was US Secretary of State, Antony Blinken.

  • Follow this and more news today on UOL News:

Ministers MĂ©laine Joly and Anita Anand – Foreign Affairs and Defense, respectively – are other Canadian officials on a list of more than 300 Ukrainians already barred from entering Russia.

The Russian Foreign Ministry, however, stressed that it has maintained official relations with the US and, if necessary, will ensure that high-level contacts with the people on this list can be established.

Check below which authorities are prohibited from entering Russia:

  • Joe Biden, President of the United States
  • Anthony flashUS Secretary of State
  • Lloyd Austin, US Secretary of Defense
  • William BurnsCIA chief
  • Jake SullivanUS National Security Advisor
  • Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada
  • mela Joly, Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Anita Anand, Canadian Minister of Defense
Image: UOL Art

US imposes new sanctions on Russian and Belarusian presidents

The United States also today announced new sanctions against Belarusian President Alexander Lukashenko and his wife, as well as Russian individuals and entities, who accuse them of corruption and human rights abuses.

The Treasury Department said the sanctions were aimed at Lukashenko, “the head of a corrupt government in Belarus whose patronage network benefits his entourage and regime”, and his wife. It also ordered punitive action against four Russian citizens and a Russian organisation, according to a statement.

Britain also applied more sanctions to Russia today. The UK government added 350 more people to its list of sanctioned individuals and imposed punitive tariffs on products such as vodka.

Among the oligarchs on the new list are Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin, Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu and former Russian President Dmitri Medvedev, as well as Putin’s press secretary Dmitry Peskov and Russian Foreign Ministry voice, Maria Zakharova.

Canada imposes sanctions on Russian oligarchs, including Chelsea owners

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced last Friday (11) new sanctions against Russian oligarchs, including tycoon Roman Abramovich, owner football Chelsea England.

“Today we announced sanctions against five other people, including Roman Abramovich,” Trudeau told reporters in Warsaw.

“These people will not be able to do business in Canada and their assets will be frozen,” the prime minister added after a six-day trip to Europe.

*With information from Reuters and AFP

Clara Burton

"Geek zombie. Subtly charming social media scholar. Beer enthusiast. Lifelong bacon pioneer."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *