Nanaimo curlers showed their shooting skills this season


Another curling season has started and the end of the year honors have been given out.

It was a very bounce back season for the Nanaimo Curling Center. Participation in the club’s bonspiel increased and the highlight of the season was the successful hosting of the Canadian Curling Stick Championships.

The last Bonspiel club of the season was Spring Fling Spiel, with the organizing committee being led by Janice Ainsworth. In the competitive division, sponsored by Johnston, Franklin, Bishop Lawyers, the winner of event A was passed by Mike Kenefick along with Teri Palynchuk, Bob Palynchuk and Elaine Cloutier. The runners-up were Mary Ellen Konyer, Brendon Plamondon, Paul Konyer and Moira Ryan. In event B, the winning team consisted of April Gale-Seixeiro, Toni Ethier, Irene Goodis and Graciete Martins Folster. Claiming second place are Gary Noble, Alina Abbott, Dale Abbott and Linda Nobel.

In the senior division, Steve Seixeiro, Wayne McFarlane, Neil McFarlane and Colleen Leslie were top of the A event, ahead of Marg Obee and teammates Noreen Martin, Sharon Stonehouse, Jill McGlenen and Moyra Graham. Winning event B was Dianne Smith and her team of Diana Baker, Michelle Plamondon and Eleanor Voysey. The runners-up were Ron Kulai, Chuck Rogerson, Kathleen Hewitt and Ron Chisholm. The recreational division saw Ron Schwartz, Orest Myronuk, Dale Kysniuk and Lorna Schwartz win event A. Second place went to Tony Steel, Chris Parker, John Bomhoff and Ron Membery. Top on event B were Mike Carson, Shawn Syring, Etsuko Carson and Monique Syring, with second place going to Joel Knox, Lucas Mullin and Jacob Soles.

Moving on to the year-end awards, this season’s Tuesday Ladies’ League was won by skip Teri Palynchuk and his team of Donna Gannon, Jodi Crawford, Jan Stromar and Kari Negrin. Second in total points came Capri Koster, Noreen Martin, Judy Gallacher and April Mathers.

Of the Thursday Afternoon Women’s League, the first overall aggregate sponsored by Cottonwood Golf Course, went to a team of champions Lorraine Jeffries, Heather Lindsay-Lecuyer, ET Mitton and Ruth Thorpe. Second place overall, sponsored by P&P Plumbing, went to Mary Ellen Konyer and teammates Lorna Black, Kellie Rice, and Alina Abbott. The Business Tuesday League, sponsored by Baker Supply Ltd., was won by Teri Palynchuk, Janice Stromar, Donna Gannon, Kari Negrin and Jodi Crawford. Second overall, sponsored by Shannon Frith Realty, went through Capri Koster and her team of Judy Gallacher, Noreen Martin and April Mathers. In a special presentation, the Frankie Shaw Honor Roll Award for outstanding contribution to the club went to Mary Ellen Konyer.

From this year’s NCC men’s league, Paul Konyer sent word that the overall winning team for Tuesday Night League will be Steve Waatainen, Keith Clarke, Darrell Knowles, Greg Norby, and Glenn Waatainen. Runners-up were Ross Barnard, Davi Kuss, Sean Krepps and Brett Edwards. Thursday Night League was won by the team of Bob Cavezza, Louis Cavezza, Tom Weinreich and Paul Merkel. In second place are four Ron Thompson, Kyle Habkirk, Gary Toombs and Aric Thompson. The men’s club championship title went to the Waatainen team, with foursome Cavezza as runners-up.

Muir Meredith reports that the Senior Men awards night saw the Royal LePage Trophy awarded to Bob Franklin, Muir Meredith, Ed Stonehouse and Andre Lemieux. The Joe Boudot Trophy was awarded to Darryl Graham, Nick Rvachew, George Schofield and Wayne Sutherland. The winners of the Christenson Collision Trophy were Brian Scorer, Eric McKean, Jim Reynolds and Peter Danehower and the Livewire Catering Trophy, awarded in honor of Harry and Jessie Whittam, was presented to Rick Kerley, Jim Bond, Jimmy Patrick and Tom Hedekar. Outgoing senior male president Dennis Shupe was awarded the President’s Shield.

Reminder to club members that the annual general meeting of the Nanaimo Curling Center will be held on the 14th of June, starting at 19:00

Whatever your sport, a closing reminder to play your hardest, play fair, and display good sportsmanship.
Like us on Facebook and follow us Twitter


Hadwin Floyd

"Coffee enthusiast. Hipster-friendly social media fanatic. Certified zombie expert. Problem solver."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *