Sports Update – Tuesday, September 19 –

The Boissevain Border Kings, who took a year off last season, return to the Tiger Hills Hockey League. THHL President Rodney White confirmed the Frontier Kings’ status for the 2023-24 season after the league’s fall meet concluded Monday night in Wawanesa. The Cartwright Clippers have until Sunday to tell the league whether they will freeze the team this season. The regular season schedule is expected to begin on October 20.

Defenseman Ashton Bell of Deloraine and goaltender Kristen Campbell of Brandon were selected in the Professional Women’s Hockey League draft on Monday in Toronto. Bell was selected in the second round by Ottawa and Campbell went to Toronto in the third round. Both players attended Hockey Canada’s National Women’s National Team September Camp last week in Thorold, Ontario. Two other Manitobans were selected in the draft. Defender Jocelyne Larocque of Ste. Anne was selected second overall by Toronto and goaltender Corinne Schroeder of Elm Creek went to New York in the sixth round. Minnesota selected forward Taylor Heise with the first overall pick. The 23-year-old Lake City, Minnesota native led the NCAA with 30 goals last season at the University of Minnesota. The PWHL will begin its inaugural 24-game season in January.

The Virden Oil Capitals’ preseason schedule concludes Monday night at Tundra Oil & Gas Place. David Bielik, Naton Miller and Trevor Hunt scored first period goals in Virden’s 4-2 win over the Portage Terriers. Joey Bielik has another Oil Capital goal. Virden netminder Owen LaRocque made 29 saves. The Oil Capitals will open the 2023-24 Manitoba Junior Hockey League season at home Friday night against the defending Turnbull Cup champion Steinbach Pistons.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers, along with the Exchange Income Corporation (EIC) and the Toronto Argonauts announced a partnership in honor of Canada’s National Day of Truth and Reconciliation. One thousand Indigenous community members will host the Sept. 29 home game against the Argos. “The Blue Bombers and Argos will wear special orange New Era jerseys for pregame warmups in honor of Orange Shirt Day,” said Wade Miller, President & CEO of the Winnipeg Football Club. “Our jerseys will be available for online auction after the game, and funds raised will once again be donated to the Winnipeg Aboriginal Sport Achievement Center (WASAC).” WASAC helps remove barriers for thousands of children each year and is Canada’s largest employer of Indigenous children and youth. The Argos will be auctioning off their orange t-shirts to raise funds for ENAGB Youth Agency. The Blue Bombers will also have the star blanket logo created for the team in 2021 on their helmets for the game. The National Anthem will be sung in Cree by Rhonda Head, a multi-award winning Mezzo Soprano from the Opaskwayak Cree Nation in Northern Manitoba. Powwow dancers, hoop dancers and drummers hosted by the Walking Wolf Singers and Dancers will also lead the team onto the field before kickoff on September 29.

Curling Canada has announced that Moncton will host the 2024 Canadian Senior Championships from December 2-7. Although this is Moncton’s first time hosting the Canadian Seniors, the city has proven experience hosting top national and international curling events. Curl Moncton hosted the first Canadian Under-18 Curling Championship in 2017 and the Canadian Junior Curling Championship in 2000. In 2009, Curling Canada’s newly appointed Director of High Performance David Murdoch – who represented Scotland – earned a respectable 10th place finish. famous from behind. finished off a win against Kevin Martin’s Team Canada at the World Men’s Curling Championship. Moncton was also the host city where Northern Ontario’s Al Hackner executed the ‘Hackner Double’ at the 1985 Brier en route to winning his second Canadian men’s championship title. The city has also hosted the 1980 World Men’s Curling Championship (won by Team Rick Folk of Canada), the 1956 Brier (won by Team Billy Walsh of Manitoba), the 1975 Canadian Women’s Curling Championship (won by Team Lee Tobin of Quebec) and the Curling Championship 1952 Canadian Women’s and 1973 Canadian Junior Men’s Curling Championships (won respectively by Team Gary Thode of Saskatchewan and Team Mark McDonald of Ontario).

Hadwin Floyd

"Coffee enthusiast. Hipster-friendly social media fanatic. Certified zombie expert. Problem solver."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *