Mike Nuga Named NBLC Canadian Player of the Year

May 6, 2023 – National Basketball League of Canada (NBL Canada) Press Release.

Breakout player Mike Nuga of the London Lightning, whose versatile skills helped lead the Bolts to a league-best record, was named NBL Canada Player of the Year, league officials announced today.

“Mike is the real deal, exactly as advertised. He is everything – literally everything – you could want from a player,” said Doug Plumb, head coach of the Lightning. “Here’s the hardest working guy in the room, emotionally tough, takes hard training. He’s basically a winner, altruistic. Super athlete. Self-aware. And very competitive. It’s all wrapped up in who Mike Nuga is.”

In 2023, Nuga scored double-digit goals in 17 games, including a season-high 21 against the Windsor Express on 1 February. Appearing in all 30 games for the Bolts, including starting 10, the 6-foot-2 guard finished the year with average. 10.8 points, 5.3 rebounds and 1.6 assists per game.

He was named the NBL Canada Player of the Week for February 5.

Plumb continued, “Mike Nuga is a worker, a grinder, a man you know gets better every day.”

Nuga played two seasons with East Florida College, where he led the squad to a national title game appearance as a freshman, followed by DI seasons at Portland State, Kent State, and UNLV. The Toronto native finished his NCAA career averaging 10.0 points, 3.4 rebounds, 1.1 assists and 23.0 minutes in 74 games.

“Durable, dynamic and always impressive. That’s Mike Nuga,” said Audley Stephenson, NBLC Commissioner. “It doesn’t matter whether he comes off the bench or in the starting lineup, Mike rises into whatever role he is given, seizing every opportunity he gets. He is exactly what this league is about – showcasing young Canadian talent and giving them a platform to lift themselves up themselves.”

Nuga is the fourth Lightning member to win the award, and the second in a row, after Garrett Williamson in 2013-14, Warren Ward in 2015-16, and Terry Thomas in 2022. Previous winners of the NBL Canada Canadian Player of the Year Award include :

2011-12 | Joey Haywood, Halifax Rainmen

2012-13 | Joey Haywood, Halifax Rainmen

2013-14 | Garrett Williamson, London Lightning

2014-15 | Tyrone Watson, Halifax Rainmen

2015-16 | Warren Ward, London Lightning

2016-17 | Terry Thomas, PEI Island Storm

2017-18 | Carl English, St. John’s Edge

2018-19 | Guillaume Boucard, PEI Island Storm

2019-20 | Alex Campbell, PEI Island Storm

2022 | Terry Thomas, London Lightning

All player award winners will receive their own customized championship plaque belonging to longtime Canadian NBL partner and playoff sponsor, Baron Championship Rings.

• Discuss this story in National Basketball League of Canada message board…

The views expressed in this release are those of the organization that issued them, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Ezoicreport this ad

Hadwin Floyd

"Coffee enthusiast. Hipster-friendly social media fanatic. Certified zombie expert. Problem solver."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *